Resources/Opportunities

TIIMSA CONVERSATIONS
A series of new TIIMSA-sponsored informative Zoom workshops with topics relevant to interim and transitional ministry.

These video conference calls will enable us to maintain connections and enhance our ministry toolbox during this time of social distancing. Calls are the first Thursday of each month, beginning with a half-hour presentation of the topic, followed by Q&A and sharing of insights from participants.

TIIMSA Conversation #1 on September 3, 2020: “Beginning, Building and Ending Relationships in the time of COVID-19”

This Zoom presentation was our first TIIMSA Conversation led by Rev. Dr. Mary Catherine Miller, Senior Pastor of Newark United Methodist Church, with 18 participants from across the nation. Assuming relationships are essential to ministry and our current pandemic is changing how we relate to one another, the workshop gave an overview of keeping connected and radiating God’s love. Dr. Miller recalled the Process Tasks taught in the training of Transitional Intentional Interim Ministry Specialists and her experience of how ministry relationships have been affected by four different categories: IDENTIFY: what relationships do we have? DEFINE: prioritizing relationships by purpose. NURTURE: connecting and caring for individuals, as well as communities. RELEASE: saying farewell while preparing for a new pastor. The presentation was followed by enthusiastic discussion by the participants concerning best practices in the midst of a pandemic. The Zoom presentation was not recorded, but the Powerpoint is available for download here.

 

Our next TIIMSA Conversation #2

Thursday, October 1, at 4:00 pm Eastern, 3:00 pm Central, 2:00 pm Mountain, and 1:00 pm Pacific Time. The topic will be “Planning for Advent and Christmas in the time of COVID-19.” More information coming soon.

 



OTHER RESOURCES…


The GENERAL BOARD OF HIGHER EDUCATION AND MINISTRY, The United Methodist Church, provides resources for Interim Ministry on their website at https://www.gbhem.org/clergy/chaplains-pastoral-counselors/interim-ministry/If you are a trained Transitional Intentional Interim Ministry Specialist and desire to apply for Approval Status from the GBHEM administered by the United Methodist Endorsing Agency, please go to the Methodist Endorsement Application Portal for the Methodist Churches of the Pan-Methodist Commission at https://methodist.smapply.io.

 


The Tasks of an Intentional Interim Minister

 


To place an TIIMS opportunity, please contact the WEBMASTER with “TIIMSA Opportunity” in the Subject line.


To discover more resources and opportunities for intentional interim ministry, click here to subscribe to the TIIMSA Email Newsletter!